Change search
ReferencesLink to record
Permanent link

Direct link
ICMCTF 2014 : Preface
Linköping University, Department of Physics, Chemistry and Biology, Thin Film Physics. Linköping University, The Institute of Technology. (Tunnfilmsfysik, Thin Film Physics)ORCID iD: 0000-0003-3277-1945
Show others and affiliations
2014 (English)In: Thin Solid Films, ISSN 0040-6090, E-ISSN 1879-2731, Vol. 572, 1-1 p.Article in journal, Editorial material (Refereed) Published
Abstract [en]

The 41st International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings andThin Films (ICMCTF), sponsored by the Advanced Surface EngineeringDivision (ASED) of the American Vacuum Society (AVS), was heldfrom April 28 to May 2, 2014 in San Diego, California, USA.The week's technical program consisted of 37 technical sessions,which were organized into 13 symposia. The conference opened witha Plenary Lecture by Prof. Sybrand van der Zwaag, Materials Scienceand Engineering at the faculty of Aerospace Engineering at the TUDelft, The Netherlands, on “Self-healing Materials: an Alternative Approachto Create More Durable/Reliable Materials and Products”. TheExhibition Keynote Lecture was presented by Prof. Timothy P. Weihs,Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the Johns HopkinsUniversity, Baltimore, MD, USA, on “Driving Commercial Applicationsand Exploring Scientific Questions with Reactive Multilayer Foils”.During the conference week, a well subscribed poster session wasattended by a large and appreciative attendee audience. An expansivelarge two-day interactive industrial exhibition, with more than 50booths,was held inwhich companies displayed theirmost recent developmentsin vacuumscience and plasma-based deposition technologies.In addition to the technical symposia sessions, there were threefocused topical sessions, and six specialized short courses offered.Professor Jindrich Musil from the faculty of Applied Sciences atthe University of Bohemia, Plzeň, Czech Republic, was the recipientof the 2014 ASED R.F. Bunshah Annual Award; he presented the HonoraryLecture, “Advanced Hard Nanocomposite Coatings with UniqueProperties”. The award recognizes and honors Prof. Musil's seminalcontributions to the development of advanced nanocomposite coatingswith enhanced hardness, oxidation resistance, toughness, and crackresistance.The ASED Annual ICMCTF Graduate Student Awards werepresented to Shiyu Liu (Gold Medal), University of Cambridge, UK;Samantha K. Lawrence (Silver Medal), Purdue University, WestLafayette, IN, USA; and Trevor Hardcastle (Bronze Medal), Universityof Leeds, UK.The electronic submission and handling of manuscripts via theElsevier Editorial System (EES), including the selection of reviewersand evaluation ofmanuscripts,were identical to the procedures appliedto manuscripts submitted as regular contributions for publication ininternational scientific journals. Following the tradition practiced since1987, the accepted manuscripts are published in the archival journalsSurface and Coatings Technology and Thin Solid Films. ICMCTF 2014proceedings are open-access to the participants for one year via theElsevier journals' web sites.The organization of this conference and the preparation of proceedingsvolumes would have been impossible without the tremendouseffort and dedication of many individuals, including the General Chair,Yip-Wah Chung, Northwestern University, USA, and the ProgramChair, Claus Rebholz, the University of Cyprus, the team of symposiaand session chairs that made possible the realization of an exciting technicalprogram. We especially thank all the authors and presenters fortheir contributions; we also thank the hundreds of reviewers for theirtimely submission of high quality reports. To our sponsors,we acknowledge,appreciate, and thank these companies for their most generousand continuing support.The 42nd International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings andThin Films (ICMCTF 2015) will be held in San Diego, California, April20–24, 2015, with Claus Rebholz, University of Cyprus, as the GeneralChair and Suneel Kodambaka, the University of California at Los Angeles, as the Program Chair.

Place, publisher, year, edition, pages
Elsevier, 2014. Vol. 572, 1-1 p.
National Category
Physical Sciences
URN: urn:nbn:se:liu:diva-114126DOI: 10.1016/j.tsf.2014.10.007OAI: diva2:787361
Available from: 2015-02-10 Created: 2015-02-10 Last updated: 2015-02-18Bibliographically approved

Open Access in DiVA

fulltext(18 kB)108 downloads
File information
File name FULLTEXT01.pdfFile size 18 kBChecksum SHA-512
Type fulltextMimetype application/pdf

Other links

Publisher's full text

Search in DiVA

By author/editor
Broitman, Esteban
By organisation
Thin Film PhysicsThe Institute of Technology
In the same journal
Thin Solid Films
Physical Sciences

Search outside of DiVA

GoogleGoogle Scholar
Total: 108 downloads
The number of downloads is the sum of all downloads of full texts. It may include eg previous versions that are now no longer available

Altmetric score

Total: 154 hits
ReferencesLink to record
Permanent link

Direct link